We thank God that Minority’s boycott was not fatal to the approval of new ministers – Akufo-Addo

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has expressed surprise that the Minority walkout during the consideration and approval of the new ministers.

He described the action of the Minority as a ‘pity’.

“It was a pity that at the last moment, the Minority which has participated in all the prior processes found it necessary to walk out of parliament at the formal approval stage. we thank God that the walkout was not fatal to the vote of approval,” President Akufo-Addo said during the swearing-in of the new ministers at the Jubilee House on Monday, May 20.

The Minority in Parliament on Friday, May 17 staged a boycott of the approval of the new ministers of President Akufo-Addo.

The minority Leader Dr Cassiel Ato Forson in his submission on the floor questioned how the approval of the ministerial nominees was classified as an urgent matter.

“May I ask, how is the approval of the President’s nominees for ministerial positions an urgent matter, when this Akufo-Addo/Bawumia government already has a large number of ministers and deputy ministers?” He asked.

While walking out of the chamber, some of the opposition lawmakers were heard saying “Ghanaians are suffering.”

Dr Cassiel Ato Forson told the Majority side that “If you don’t care, we care.”

The ministerial nominees are Health Hon. Dr. Bernard Okoe Boye; Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation, Ophelia Mensah Hayford; Information Ms. Fatimatu Abubakar, Gender; Children and Social Protection Dakoa Newman;  Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development Martin Adjei-Mensah Korsah; Sanitation and Water Resources Hon. Lydia Seyram Alhassan; Tourism, Arts and Culture Hon. Andrew Egyapa Mercer, MP, Greater Accra Region Hon. Titus Glover, Oti Region Mr. Daniel Machator.

The deputy ministerial nominees are for Information Sylvester Tetteh, MP; Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development, Vincent Ekow Assafuah;
Communications and Digitilisation Hon. Charles Acheampong; Health Adelaide Ntim, MP Alexander Akwasi Acquah; Works and Housing Hon. Dr. Prince Hamidu Armah;
Lands and Natural Resources, Akwasi Konadu; Fisheries and Aquaculture Development Hon. Musah Abdul Aziz Ayaba; Energy John Kobina Sanie, Collins Adomako Mensah;
Education Kingsley Nyarko; Employment and Labour Relations Hon. Festus Awuah Kwofie;
Gender, Children and Social Protection Hon. Benjamin Sekyere Yeboah.”

Source: 3news.com

Mr Riddims

Mr Riddims, CEO of Riddims Ghana Network who is a Blogger | Artiste Promoter | Website Designer | Radio DJ | Artiste Manager | Music Distributer etc.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button